"Making A Difference -
One Student At A Time"

 

 


 

 
 

Pennsylvania 
Association of
Student Assistance Professionals 

Log in

PDE funded K-12 SAP Training opportunity

Tuesday, October 20, 2015 1:15 PM | Terry Kerr (Administrator)

In anticipation of an approved state budget at Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE), the Safe Schools Office is planning to offer no-cost K-12 Student Assistance Program (SAP) training opportunities for your LEA this school year.  These funds are currently still pending based on finalization of the state budget.  As you know, SAP is a mandated K-12 program in Pennsylvania as per Chapter 12, 12.42 of the PA School Code and Act 211 of 1990 (24 P.S. 12.12.42-1547).

The trainings need to be completed by June 8, 2016.  Substitute costs, meals, travel, etc. will not be funded. PDE will direct all training monies to the respective Commonwealth Approved Trainers (CAT’s) and not to the individual districts. Act 48 credits will be available for the K-12 SAP training.

This year, K-12 SAP Team training for up to 4 new (additional, per district) SAP team members will be available, and any individual trained will receive the K-12 SAP certificate.  Since SAP is mandatory K-12, priority will be given to those districts interested in starting a new Elementary Student Assistance Teams.  Although every effort will be made to satisfy all districts’ training requests, it will be based on availability of funds and/or each CAT’s training schedule.  New Elementary Student Assistance team requests will be our first priority.

Attached to this notice is a 2015-16 PDE Funded K-12 SAP Training Request Form that should be electronically submitted to your SAP Regional Coordinator no later than 4:00 p.m. November 16, 2015.  Only one request form per district will be accepted.

Your SAP Regional Coordinators are:

Joe Loccisano, Email: jloccisano@pa.gov<mailto:jloccisano@pa.gov>    Phone: 717-346-4253 Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia Counties

Russ Alves: E-mail: ralves@pa.gov<mailto:ralves@pa.gov>   Phone 717-783-6777 Franklin, Fulton, and Dauphin Counties

Susan Billy, Email: susan_billy@iu13.org<mailto:billy@iu13.org>    Phone 717-606-1622 Adams, Lancaster, Lebanon, and York Counties

Diane Best, Email: bestd@iu29.org<mailto:bestd@iu29.org>           Phone 570-544-9131 ex. 1255 Berks, Carbon, Lehigh, and Schuylkill Counties

Region IV – Regina Myers, Email: sapcoordinator@iu19.org<mailto:sapcoordinator@iu19.org>    Phone 570-876-9308 Lackawanna, Luzerne, Monroe, Northhampton, Pike, Susquehanna, Wayne, and Wyoming Counties

Region V – Chris Mitcheltree, Email: cmitcheltree@csiu.org<mailto:cmitcheltree@csiu.org>    Phone 570-523-1155 ex. 2200 Bradford, Columbia, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Sullivan, and Tioga Counties

Region VI – Patricia Johnson, Email: c‐pjohnson@pa.gov    Phone 570-907-0218 Clinton, Cumberland, Huntington, Juniata, Mifflin, Perry, Snyder, and Union Counties

Region VII – Deborah Strayer, Email: c‐dstrayer@pa.gov    Phone 814-312-7046 Blair, Bedford, Cambria, Centre, Clearfield, Jefferson, and Somerset Counties

Renee Urick, Email: c‐rurick@pa.gov    Phone 724-938-3554 ex. 107 Allegheny, Washington, Greene, Fayette, Beaver, and Westmoreland Counties

Marie Bozelli, Email: c‐mbozelli@pa.gov    Phone 724-284-9183 Armstrong, Butler, Clarion, Indiana, Lawrence, Mercer, and Venango Counties

Beth Sprentz, Email: c‐bsprentz@pa.gov    Phone 814-726-9626 Cameron, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Forest, McKean, Potter, and Warren Counties

Attached is a list of participating Commonwealth Approved Training agencies (CATs) that your district must choose from for the PDE funded SAP training.

Once your request form is submitted to your SAP Regional Coordinator, it will be reviewed by her/him, and during that process your district SAP contact person should direct initial questions to that Regional Coordinator regarding request status. Your Regional Coordinator will contact your district to let them know the status of the funding request. 

/resources/Documents/2015-16%20SAP%20Training%20Request%20Form.docx

/resources/Documents/15-16%20Letter%20to%20Superintendents%20K-12%20training%201-9-15.docx

/resources/Documents/PNSAS%20Map.pdf

/resources/Documents/K-12%20%20SAP%20Participating%20Trainers%20list%2010-9-15.docx

 

 

Pennsylvania Association of Student Assistance Professionals
PO Box 165
Titusville, Pennsylvania 16354 

Email us: support@pasap.org 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software