PFSA provides accurate, up-to-date resources for mandated reporters of child abuse in Pennsylvania. Here's some information you can use today to make sure you understand your responsibilities under the new amendments to the Child Protective Services Law:
Act 31 of 2014 amended § 6383(c) of the Child Protective Services Law to require certain persons to receive child abuse recognition and reporting training as a condition of licensure, approval or registration:
• Operators of institutions, facilities or agencies which care for children and are subject to supervision by the Department of Human Services (Department) under Article IX or Article X of the Public Welfare Code, and their employees who have direct contact with children;
• Foster parents;
• Caregivers in Family Day Care homes which are subject to registration by the Department under Subarticle (c) of the Public Welfare Code and their employees who have direct contact with children.
Effective December 31, 2104, new employees and new foster parents are required to receive 3 hours of training within 90 days of hire or approval and 3 hours of training every five years thereafter.
Effective December 31, 2014, prospective operators of child-serving institutions, facilities or agencies or family day care homes must receive 3 hours of training prior to the issuance of a license, approval or registration certificate and 3 hours of training every five years thereafter.
Beginning July 1, 2015, the following must receive 3 hours of training prior to the re-issuance of a license, approval or registration certificate and 3 hours of training every five years thereafter:
• Current operators;
• Current employees having direct contact with children;
• Current caregivers and employees in family day care homes; and
• Current foster parents.
The curriculum for the child abuse recognition and reporting training must be approved by the Department and must address, but not be limited to, the following:
• Recognition of the signs of abuse;
• Reporting requirement for suspected abuse in the commonwealth and
• For institutions, facilities and agencies their policies related to reporting of suspected child abuse.
All of PFSA's mandated reporter trainings meet the requirements of all of the licensing entities in Pennsylvania.
Persons may be exempted from the Act 31 training requirements if all of the following apply:
• The person provides documentation that they have already completed child abuse recognition and reporting training;
• The training was:
o Required under § 1205.6 of the Public School Code or required these trainings were approved by the Department; or
o Required under the Child Protective Services Law and the training was approved by the Department; and
o The amount of the training received equals or exceeds the amount of training required above.
To read Act 31 in its entirety click here; for PFSA’s training options, click here.